Close this search box.

February 26, 2022

The Rasmus represents Finland

Famous band The Rasmus is chosen to represent Finland in the Eurovision Song Contest in Turin. The song “Jezebel” is written by Lauri Ylönen and the famous American composer Desmond Child. Finland will perform in the first half of the second semifinal. The full results are: The Rasmus, Jezebel, 310 pts. Cyan Kicks, “Hurricane”, 221 pts. Bess, “Ram pam pam”, 204 pts. Isaac Sene, “Kuuma jäbä”, 127 pts. Olivera, “Thank God I’m an atheist”, 121 pts. Young Hearted, “Sun numero”, 91 pts. Tommi Läntinen, “Elämä kantaa mua”, 56 pts.    

Read More »

It’s Sheldon Riley for Australia

Sheldon Riley has won the Australian national final “Australia, You decide”. Sheldon will represent Australia with the song “Not the same” written and composed by himself with Cam Nacson and Timi Temple. Australia will perform in the first half of the second semifinal. The full result of the contest is:   Sheldon Riley, “Not the same”, 100 pts. Voyager, “Dreamer”, 97 pts. Jaguar Jonze, “Little fires”, 91 pts. Charley, “I suck at being alone”, 63 pts. G-Nation, “Bite me”, 56 pts. Paulini, “We are one”, 52 pts. Andrew Lambrou, “Electrify”, 51 pts. Jude York, “I won’t need a dream”, 47 pts. Isaiah Firebrace & Evie Irie, “When I’m with you”, 45 pts. Erica Padilla, “To the bottom”, 45 pts. Seann Miley Moore, “My body”, 23 pts.  

Read More »

Iceland: Söngvakeppnin starts (UPDATE)

Tonight, the first semifinal of the Icelandic national selection, Söngvakeppnin, starts. The show will be on at 20.45 CET and you can watch it here. 5 songs will compete, two will head to the final. The songs are: Amarosis, “Don’t you know” Stefán Óli, “Ljósið” Haffi Haff, “Gía” Stefanía Svavarsdóttir, “Hjartað mitt” Sigga, Beta & Elin, “Með hækkandi sól” The finalists are in bold letters. Haffi Haff took part in the 2008 semifinals.Stefanía Svavarsdóttir was involved in the 2015 semifinals.Note that Sigga is NOT the Sigga who represented Iceland on three occasions.

Read More »

Finland selects a song

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) is the Finnish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest. It will be held tonight at 20.00 CET and you can watch it here, here (English commentary) or here (Swedish commentary). One name of international fame is included: The Rasmus, a rock band who had their breakthrough with the song “In the shadows” in 2003. This is the full list of participants: 1 Jezebel The Rasmus 2 Kuuma jäbä Isaac Sene 3 Thank God I’m an atheist Olivera 4 Ram pam pam Bess 5 Sun numero Younghearted 6 Hurricane Cyan Kicks 7 Elämä kantaa mua Tommi Läntinen   Tommi Läntinen was the only one who took part in the Finnish national selection before: he was involved in the 2005 semifinals.  

Read More »

Sweden: Melodifestivalen, 4th heat(UPDATE)

The Swedish national selection Melodifestivalen will continue tonight with it’s 4th heat. The show will start at 20.00 CET and you can watch it here. Two participants will go directly to the final, while two others will go to the semifinal (what was previously called ‘andra chancen’). These are the participants:  Anna Bergendahl, “High power” (semifinal) Lillasyster, “Till our days are over” (semifinal) Malin Christin, “Synd om mig” Tenori, “La stella” Medina, “In i damman” (final) Angelino, “The end” Klara Hammarström, “Run to the hills” (final) The songs that went through are in bold letters.   Anna Bergendahl won Melodifestivalen 2010 and thus represented Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2019, she became 10th. In 2020 she was 3rd.Lillasyster came to andra chancen in 2021.Sami Rekik (Medina) took part in the 2021 semifinals.Klara Hammarström took part in the 2020 semifinals and became 6th in 2021.

Read More »