Close this search box.


The Common Linnets

© Albin Olsson About Quick Facts MembersIlse DelangeWaylon Active2013-2017 Nationality Dutch National SelectionInternal selection 2014 In Eurovision2014 Copenhagen SongCalm After The Storm (2014) Biography The Common Linnets, a band hailing from the Netherlands, was established in 2013, initially featuring Ilse DeLange and Waylon. DeLange elucidated that the group was formed as a dynamic platform for Dutch musicians to experiment and create country, Americana, and bluegrass music. The band saw a change in lineup when Waylon departed in May 2014 and was replaced by American country artist Jake Etheridge. Their debut album, featuring the song “Calm After the Storm”, secured them a second-place finish in the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 – the best performance by the Netherlands since their victory in 1975. The band’s name draws inspiration from the regional nickname ‘heikneuters,’ attributed to individuals from the eastern part of the Netherlands, DeLange and Waylon’s birthplace. This term refers to the songbird ‘kneu’ or common linnet. Credit for this innovative name goes to Dutch designer Rens Dekker, who also designed their album and single artworks. The initial band members were individual country artists, Ilse DeLange and Waylon, with DeLange acknowledged as the founder and leading member. DeLange envisaged the band as a project to facilitate Dutch artists in their musical explorations. Since 2014, the band has been composed of Ilse DeLange, JB Meijers, Jake Etheridge, and Matthew Crosby, who along with Rob Crosby, penned the hit “Calm After The Storm”. Born on May 13, 1977, in Almelo, Netherlands, Ilse DeLange’s musical journey started at the tender age of 8. Her talents were showcased in regional and national talent shows in Hilversum, followed by a musical partnership with guitarist Joop Liefland. Waylon, born on April 20, 1980, in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, adopted his stage name in honor of his idol, Waylon Jennings. After their Eurovision success, the band embarked on a promotional tour. The noticeable absence of Waylon sparked speculations of him leaving the band. On his official Facebook page, Waylon revealed that the unexpected success of the band led him to focus on his album releasing in September 2014. JB Meijers, born on June 10, 1972, in Delft, Netherlands, joined the band after his stint with Dutch indie bands Charmin’ Children, Shine, and Supersub. Besides playing with De Dijk, Eboman, and Acda & De Munnik, he also worked as a producer. Jake Etheridge, born on April 25, 1988, in Columbia, South Carolina, joined the band post-Waylon’s departure. Before joining, he had gained recognition for his online song uploads. Matthew Crosby, born on May 21, 1981, in Columbia, South Carolina, was an accomplished actor in New York City and had previously performed with the band “The Easy Tells”. The band represented the Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Copenhagen, with the song “Calm After the Storm”. The Common Linnets won the 2014 Buma Cultuur Pop Award and the 2015 Echo Awards for Best International Newcomer Act. Their second studio album ‘II’ was released in 2015. The album became a Gold disc. In november 2015, the band toured throughout Germany and Austria. They received an award for best an award at Radio 538 for best live performance. In 2016 the band played at Eurosonic Noorderslag. They went to Sweden to perform in Douwe Bob‘s pub in Stockholm, during the Eurovision week. In June, they did a UK tour, in November they went back to Germany. Also in 2017, the band kept on performing. After that, Ilse Delange, JB Meijers and Matthew Crosby had solo projects.  In 2019, Ilse Delange was a coach at the Eurovision Song Contest for Duncan Laurence, who won the contest. Entries Calm After The Storm Country🇳🇱 The Netherlands Year2014 LanguageEnglish LyricsIlse DelangeJB MeijersRob CrosbyMatthew CrosbyJake Etheridge MusicIlse DelangeJB MeijersRob CrosbyMatthew CrosbyJake Etheridge BackingsBart VergoossenJB MeijersMartijn Van Agt Results Semi Points: 150Position: 1Running order: 14 Results Finals Points: 238Position: 2Running order: 24

Read More »


© EBU/Andres Putting About Quick Facts NameWillem Bijkerk Born20 April 1980 Nationality???????? Dutch National SelectionInternal selection 2018Internal selection 2014Nationaal Songfestival 2005 In Eurovision2018 Lisbon2014 Copenhagen SongOutlaw in ’em (2018)Calm after the storm (The Common Linnets, 2014) Biography Waylon is a Dutch singer, songwriter and musicion. He was born in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands. He chose his stage name as he was a fan of Waylon Jennings. In 1995 he started singing in the tv show Telekids. He signed a record contract in 1997 and was allowed to record an album in Nashville. However, it was never released. In 2001 he lived and worked in the United States for a year . He appeared in the show of his idol Waylon Jennings with whom he also worked. Jennings passed away and Bijkerk returned to the Netherlands. After his return, he sang in the bands Santa Rosa and Millstreet. Waylon joined Rachel Kramer in 2005 as the duo ‘Rachel & Waylon’ in Het Nationaal Songfestival, the Dutch national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2008 he reached the final of Holland’s Got Talent. Despite the fact he did not win, this marked his breakthrough. His first record, “Wicked way”, became a huge hit in the Netherlands. It was followed by a debut album, “Wicked ways”, in 2009. In april 2010, he won a 3FM Award as ‘best newcomer’ and a TMF Award as ‘new talent’. In october 2011, his second album “After all” followed and he won another 3FM Award, now for ‘best singer’.Together with Ilse Delange, Waylon formed The Common Linnets. They represented the Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest with the song “Calm after the storm” and became 2nd. After Eurovision, the only performance of the two together was at the Tuckerville concert in Enschede, organized by The Common Linnets. After this concert, Waylon left the band.Two solo albums followed: “Heaven after midnight” (2014) and “Seeds” (2016). Meanwhile, Waylon was a coach in The Voice of Holland. In 2018, Waylon took part in the Eurovision Song Contest again, now as a solo singer with the song “Outlaw in ’em’. He reached the final again. The song was also released on his new album, “World can wait”. A tour with the subject ‘outlaws in country music’ followed: My heroes have always been cowboys. In december 2019, Waylon released a 6th album, “Human”. During the first lockdown of COVID19, he sang a version of Willeke Alberti’s song “Samen zijn”, together with the original singer and Wibi Soerjadi.In 2022, Waylon started singing in Dutch. His duet with former Eurovision-host Jan Smit (as Willem & Jan), “Tussen jou en mij” was released on single. Entries Outlaw In ‘Em Country???????? The Netherlands Year2018 LanguageEnglish LyricsJim BeaversWaylonIlya Toshinskiy MusicJim BeaversWaylonIlya Toshinskiy BackingsJustin PieplenboschPierre AngandaRoger MakadiPieter LikiyoBrandon Likiyo Results Semi Points: 174Position: 7Running order: 8 Results Finals Points: 121Position: 18Running order: 23 Calm After Storm (The Common Linnets) Country???????? Country Year2014 LanguageEnglish LyricsIlse De LangeJB MeijersRob CrosbyMatthew CrosbyJake Etheridge MusicIlse De LangeJB MeijersRob CrosbyMatthew CrosbyJake Etheridge BackingsJB MeijersBart VergoossenMartijn Van Agt Results Semi Points: 150Position: 1Running order: 14 Results Finals Points: 238Position: 2Running order: 24

Read More »