Close this search box.

🇮🇸 Iceland selects their entry

Tonight is the night when Iceland selects a song. Söngvakeppnin, their national final, will contain 5 songs. Out of these 5, jury and televoter will select two to head to a superfinal. In that superfinal, televotes will be added to select the winner.

The show starts at 20:45 CET and you can watch it here or here (with English comments). These are the contestants:

nr. Title Artist(s)  
1 Biómynd VÆB
2 Scared of heights Hera Björk
3 Downfall Anita
4 Wild west Bashar Murad
5 Into the athmosphere Sigga Ózk

Sigga Ózk reached the final last year.

Hera Björk represented Iceland in the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest with the song “Je ne sais quoi”. She took part in 2007 (semifinals), was the runner up in the 2009 Danish Melodi Grand Prix and 3rd in Söngvakeppnin 2019.

The connection from Palestinian Bashar Murad with Iceland is the fact that, in 2019, he collaborated with Hatari in the song “Klefi/Samed”. This is, however, his first attempt in Eurovision. Bashar is the hot favourite to win tonight.


Related news