Close this search box.

February 15, 2020

Super saturday with semifinals in Ukraine, Estonia, Sweden and Iceland

Tonight is the night four countries will have new semifinals. At 18.00 CET, Ukraine starts. As we experienced last week, probably they will be the last ones to have their results.  You can watch the show here. The contestants will be: Moonzoo feat. F.M.F. Sure, “Maze” Fo Sho, “Blck sqr” Elina Ivaschenko, “Get up” Oleksandr Poriadynsky, “Savior” Garna, “Who we are” Khayat, “Call for love” David Axelrod, “Horizon” Tvorchi, “Bonfire” Khayat took part last year too but didn’t reach the final.  Estonia is the second one with the second Eesti Laul show. It starts at 18:30 CET and you can watch it here. Twelve contestants will battle for six places in the final:  Viinerid, “Kapa kohi-LA” Janet, Hingelid” Uku Suviste, “What love is” Inger, “Only dream” Merilin Mälk, “Miljon sammu” German & Violina, “Heart winder” Jaagup Tuisk, “Beautiful lies” Ziggy Wild, “Lean on me” Uudo Sepp, “I’m Sorry I messed up” Traffic, “Üks kord veel” Shira, “Out in space” Mariliis Jõgeva, “Unistustes” Uku Suviste took part in 2016 and was the runner up in 2019. Inger took part in 2019 as well. Mariliis Jõgeva took part in 2015 but under the name Mari. The band Traffic was the runner up in 2009 and also took part in 2012 and 2014. Their song is written by the team of last year’s entry, including singer Victor Crone.  In Sweden, Melodifestivalen will start at 20:00 CET and you can watch it here. The songs are: Mariette, “Shout it out” Albin Johnsén, “Livet börjar nu” Drängarna, “Piga og dräng” Amanda Aasa, “Late” Anis don Demina, “Vem är som oss” Faith Kakembo, “Crying rivers” Mohombi, “Winners” Mariette took part in 2015, 2017 and 2018. Albin Johnsén is new as a singer, but wrote several songs in the past. Anis Don Demina took part in last years semifinal. So did Mohombi, but he reached the final as well. The last semifinal is the Icelandic one, starting at 20:45 CET. You can watch it here. The contestants are: Daði & Gagnamagnið, “Gagnamagnið” Hildur Vala, “Fellibylur” Iva, “Oculis videre” Matti Matt, “Dreyma” Nína, “Ekkó” Daði Freyr also took part in 2017. Matti Matt is a familiar face: in 2011 he was one of Sjonni’s Friends, who represented Iceland in the Eurovision Song Contest.

Read More »